FLIGHTS THAT BENEFIT FROM THE DEROGATION ("EXEMPTED FLIGHTS")

The following flights will benefit from the derogation and thus are exempted from the EU ETS compliance obligations for the period from 2010 to 2012:

- Flights from airports located in the 30 EEA States¹ (including the regions and territories listed in table 1 below) to 3rd countries;
- Flights from 3rd countries into airports located in the 30 EEA States (including the regions and territories listed in table 1 below).

Table 1

ES	Canary Islands, Ceuta, Melilla
FI	Aland Islands
FR	French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Réunion, Saint Martin
PT	Azores, Madeira
NO	Jan Mayen
UK	Gibraltar

FLIGHTS FOR WHICH COMPLIANCE OBLIGATIONS REMAIN UNCHANGED ("NON-EXEMPTED FLIGHTS")

The EU ETS Directive will continue to apply in its existing form, as decided in 2009, to the flights operated in the territory of the EEA. The territorial scope of the EEA also includes the following outermost regions and territories:

Table 2

ES	Canary Islands, Ceuta, Melilla
FI	Aland Islands
FR	French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Réunion, Saint Martin
PT	Azores, Madeira
NO	Jan Mayen
UK	Gibraltar

The airport Basel-Mulhouse-Freiburg (ICAO Aerodrome Codes LFSB and LSZM) is located in French territory.

¹ The European Economic Area (EEA) comprises the countries of the <u>European Union</u> (EU), plus <u>Iceland</u>, <u>Liechtenstein</u> and <u>Norway</u>.

The compliance obligations will also remain unchanged for flights that connect airports in the EEA with airports located in Switzerland, Croatia, and EEA-States' overseas countries and territories (see list below).

Table 3

Croatia

Greenland		
Faeroe Islands		
French Polynesia		
Mayotte		
New Caledonia		
Saint Barthélemy		
Saint Pierre and Miquelon		
Wallis and Futuna		
Aruba		
Bonaire		
Saba		
Sint Eustatius		
Curação		
Sint Maarten		
Svalbard		
Anguilla		
Bermuda		
British Antarctic Territory		
British Indian Ocean Territory		
British Virgin Islands		
Cayman Islands		
Falkland Islands		
Bailiwick of Guernsey		
Isle of Man		
Jersey		
Montserrat		
Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands		
Saint Helena		
Ascension and Tristan da Cunha		
South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands		
Turks and Caicos Islands		
Akrotiri		
Dhekelia		
Switzerland		

Flights within the counties and territories listed in table 3and flights between these countries and territories and third countries were not included in the scope of the EU ETS and thus remain excluded from the scope of the EU ETS.